Debout! Collection Pinault in Rennes

23 June- 9 September 2018

Couvent des Jacobins and Musée des Beaux-Arts, Rennes, France


From Saturday 23 June to Sunday 9 September 2018, the City of Rennes is hosting a contemporary art exhibition encompassing a selection of works from the Pinault Collection. The exhibition is on show at the Couvent des Jacobins and Musée des Beaux-Arts, and brings together around 20 internationally-renowned artists such as Maurizio Cattelan, Marlene Dumas, Bertrand Lavier and Thomas Schütte, as well as emerging talent such as Vincent Gicquel and Lucas Arruda. Many of the 60-odd works on display have never been on public show.

Art lover François Pinault is one of the world's greatest contemporary art collectors. The Pinault Collection comprises over 3,000 works of art spanning the 20th century to the present day. François Pinault is driven by a passion for sharing his love of art with as wide an audience as possible, always with a view to supporting artists and continuously exploring new fields of artistic expression.

Thomas Houseago, Baby, 2009. Tuf-Cal, hemp, iron rebar, wood, graphite and charcoal 260.4 x 228.6 x 205.7 cm.

Thomas Houseago's Baby 'looks ready to take its first infant steps – except that it's almost three metres high'. 


Established in 2006, the Pinault Collection's cultural activities are based on museum-oriented initiatives at two exceptional sites in Venice: The Palazzo Grassi (inaugurated in 2006) and the Punta della Dogana (2009). In addition to Venice and Paris, where the Pinault Collection is set to open a museum at the Bourse du Commerce in 2019, works from the collection are regularly showcased in off-site exhibitions in France and around the world, in Moscow, Monaco, Seoul, Lille, Dinard, Dunkerque, Essen and Stockholm. This summer is Rennes' turn.

Exhibited artists:

Adel Abdessemed, Lucas Arruda, Berlinde de Bruyckere, Maurizio Cattelan, Jake and Dinos Chapman, François Curlet, Marlene Dumas, Vincent Gicquel, Duane Hanson, Thomas Houseago, Pierre Huyghe, Bertrand Lavier, Jean-Luc Moulène, Paulo Nazareth, Charles Ray, Thomas Schütte, Henri Taylor, Tatiana Trouvé, Dario Villalba, Danh Vo and Lynette Yiadom-Boakye.


Developed in conjunction with Joomla extensions.